Llechryd Cricket Club  recently celebrated their 40th Anniversary with an evening of entertainment organised by club captain John Curran and over 300 guests attended.

Club stalwart Peter Hazelby addressed the guests with a talk on the history of Llechryd Cricket Club, followed by the awards ceremony and a few words from guest speaker Ceri Wyn Jones and a question and answer session with Simon Jones, the former Glamorgan and England pace bowler.

There was also an auction and the night ending with entertainment from J090 Band and disco.

The main awards were presented to:

1st Team Best Bowler Rhys Beard

1st Team Player of the Year and Best Batsman of the Year  John Curran

1st Team Junior Player Joe Mansfield

2nd Team Best Bowler Peter Gregory

2nd Team Best Batsman Rob Mansfield

2nd Team Player of the Year Ollie Roberts

2nd Team Best Junior Player Dafydd Davies.

Special awards were made to some of the original Llechryd CC players in the form of Hywel Rees, Peter Hazelby, Hans Williams and Ben Graham who was the 2019 Clubman of the Year with 35 years of service at the club.

Peter Betterley and Laurence Harries have played for Wales over 70’s this season and got to the final losing to Surrey. Peter also represented England over 70’s last year on their tour of Australia.

During the afternoon the junior section enjoyed a fun day with awards being presented also.

Junior award winners were Dexter West, Ifan Wyn Jones, Thomas Cartwright, Thomas Lewis, John Griffiths and Dafydd Davies.Evan Lewis & Jaap Harries.

County winners were:- Pembs County U10’s, Ifan Wyn Jones ,Pembs County U11’s Tomos Lewis, Pembs County U13’s Dafydd Davies, Pembs County U15’s Olivia North  and Wales U14’s, Ladies National Team and Megan Clewer-Evans – Wales U14’s Ladies Squad

The junior section has over 70 members aged between 5 and 15 with 7 junior players representing Llechryd at County, Regional & National levels within Wales.

Leave a Reply